Department of New Ages

Head of the Department

Department's staff

The Department of New Ages was created in 1944 when the section of History was divided into two parts. The heads of the department were famous scientists such as V. Rshtuni (1944-1948), V. Parsamyan (1948-1955), Ts. Aghayan (1955-1961, 1972-1980), A. Hovhannisyan (1961-1972), Az. Hambaryan (1980-2003). 2003-2011 the head of the department was Doct. E. Kostandyan. From 2011 the department is headed by R. Sahakyan.
The main subjects of the department՚s scientific research are the history and ideology of the national-liberating movements in Eastern and Western parts of Armenia (Ash. Hovhannisyan, Ab. Hovhannisyan, Ts. Aghayan, R. Hovhannisyan, E. Kostandyan), the social-economic and agrarian relations (Az. Hambaryan), Armenian-Russian relations (M. Nersisyan, Ash. Hovhannisyan, Z. Grigoryan, V. Parsamyan), the emergence of the Armenian Cause, ethnography (Ash. Melqonyan, G. Araqelyan, A. Sahakyan), the history of Armenian parties (G. Khudinyan, A. Karapetyan, G. Hovhannisyan, S. Sargsyan) etc.